WE id — no anonymous sources

So this is something that I’ve been kicking around upstairs for a while.  One of the problems that I’ve noticed in the whole ufo circus is people using anonymous sources way beyond being useful, and then getting burned by it.

James Carrion has talked about this more than anyone else I’ve read, although I would imagine that there are others. Carrion has talked about it, and wont even take anonymous information, which he talks about in this post,

Basically I think there is only one way to deal with anonymous information:

You can accept anonymous information, but if you do, you cannot use it unless you can verify it with a separate source willing to go on the record. Basically you can use the info for research purposes, i.e. as a lead, but you can’t talk about the info in public. You can tell your “source” that if he or she won’t go on the record, you can’t publicly talk about it until you can use that person’s name and verify their credentials.

There’s certainly a long history of researchers being told fantastic stories by highly regarded people, only to have that information later shown to be false, after the story has muddied the water for everyone else. It should stop.

I should note that I am anonymous, for all practical purposes. But I’m not claiming any special experience or knowledge. I use this blog mainly to comment on what I see in ufology, and what I’d like to see.

Comments are welcome. And feel free to use the above graphic on your own site if you support the idea.

About nycjeff

Just another guy with an interest in UFOs. I work in finance. I live in New York City and I may have once seen a UFO aobve 8th avenue.

Posted on March 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

